top of page
Recent Posts

The Unglamorous Truths About Working From Home. (Part 3: LOSING YOUR MARBLES AND EVERYTHING ELSE)


Continued: 8 reasons to NOT work at home

  • I live in organised chaos

  • Sitting for long periods has made my bottom the size of the moon

  • I walk around leaving jobs half done like some lost mental patient

  • I have now become a huge fan of Jeremy Kyle- This is no joke it actually happened.

  • No-one else does any house work because apparently that is my job being at home all day

  • The animals create opportunities to distract me from my work at ANY given opportunity.

  • I have become a social recluse and I am a midget gem away from creating a friend out of a football.

  • For sale sites and eBay have become the most effective way of spending my earnings……………boom!!

Point 3: LOSING YOUR MARBLES AND EVERYTHING ELSE

Walking around leaving jobs half done- this actually happens! I once received a call in the middle of writing a report and the person on the line wanted a contact number so off I trotted to find it. 10 minutes later I returned to the phone to find it off the hook. Strange I thought and picked it up to hear someone shouting hello.

'Hello,' I shouted back, 'who are you?' Only for the reality to kick in when I realised I had wandered off and got caught up in something else.

I can’t blame it on old age…. I’m 40! When you have so many things to do its easy to forget. Like putting a wash cycle on to find that you have not took in out in time to dry your daughters clothes, or forgetting to feed the dog so he is looking at you like you’re the most evil person in the world, and (this is a true story) he lies in front of the living room door as a booby trap so you go arse over tit and end up with your face sliding across the laminate flooring. I suppose he thinks that’s Karma.

It’s the little things that get me the most though, like trying to put the milk on the kettle stand or answering the phone with my keyboard mouse, not to mention the endless conversations I have with the dog and cat.

It’s even worse that I get frustrated with they don’t respond.


Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page